Hey guys, I’m writing an essay thing for the common app.  If you could help me edit it, I would be extremely thankful!

Here’s the prompt: The lessons we take from failure can be fundamental to later success. Recount an incident or time when you experienced failure. How did it affect you, and what did you learn from the experience?

And here’s my answer:

I have never been the best at math, but I would like to become better at it since I want to be an engineer.  Because of this, I have had to learn how to study effectively.  Throughout elementary school and most of middle school, I did not have to study very hard.  I tried to continue with this mindset when I got to high school, but I did not realize that it was a mistake until my grades started dropping in my math classes.  Through this failure (at least it was a failure to me), I learned the importance of studying hard even for a test where I thought I already knew all of the information.  I am so happy that I learned this lesson as early in my high school career as I did because I now know that I need to study no matter how easy the test may seem at first.  While I do still struggle with math, I cannot imagine where I would be had I not learned this valuable lesson.  Because of my studying habits that I had to develop, I am able to understand more of the material and I am able to know what questions I actually need to ask in order to ensure my understanding of the subject is solid.  While I do wish that I had learned this lesson sooner, I am happy that I did learn it before I got to college.  Because I learned this lesson, I know that I will be able to more easily excel in college using the study habits that I have developed.

