Dear Mr. Greitens,

I’m sorry if I’m bothering you here, but I don’t understand your budget cuts to funding Missouri colleges. Granted, I may be a bit biased since I’m going into college next school year, but that being said, I just don’t get it. You were quoted in the Columbia Daily Tribune as recommending to cut “$40.4 million from the UM system’s basic appropriation” and I personally don’t think that’s okay. I am going to Missouri S&T, and you have decided that it’s a good idea to increase room and board by $435, that is, 4.6%. I just got a scholarship worth slightly more than that. I was hoping the scholarship would go to making the cost even lower, not just breaking even with where it used to be. I have also heard that you are cutting back on the Bright Flight scholarship. Good for you, you are taking money away from students who worked hard to get that money by working hard on their education. By taking away this money you are in no way shape or form helping the youth of Missouri. I’m going to be honest, I don’t know what you plan to do with the money that you are taking away from these colleges and from these students, but whatever your reasons, I don’t agree. I am going to become an engineer, and most people would say that’s a great thing, but it will now cost more for me to reach my goals. I don’t understand what was wrong with the tuition at Missouri S&T, I mean sure, it was the lowest, but that was a good thing. So please, think of the college students that you would be effecting with these tuition increases. Please consider the people you would be effecting. Sure, enrollment is down, but making it cost more sure won’t bring enrollment up. People won’t think, “oh look, they made it cost more to go there, that looks like a good choice”. No one will think that; people want to be able to get a quality education for a fair price. That’s part of the reason why I chose Missouri S&T for my college education. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m still going to attend this college, I’m just very annoyed that you think it’s okay to take funding away from colleges and the students that attend them. I am sorry if I somehow managed to offend you with this open letter, although I do hope it reaches you somehow. Once again, please consider rethinking changing the tuition for these colleges. 

Thank you,

A concerned soon-to-be college student

Caylyn 

