This was a few years ago before a school dance. I’ve decided that it sums up my relationship with my boyfriend pretty well. By the time that this is posted, he and I will have been dating for 4 years (started at the end of 8th grade). He doesn’t know anything about this, but I’ve decided to basically compile a list of things that he does that remind me why I’m dating him and why he’s an amazing person, so here goes. By the way, I’m starting this near the end of January, so who knows how much I’ll end up with.

  • He is one of the few people who can calm me down no matter how much or how badly I’m freaking out.
  • He never fails to make me laugh.
  • He would go to the ends of the earth to help his friends.
  • He’s not afraid to speak his mind.
  • Even though he doesn’t like to do it very much in pictures, he has an amazing smile that never fails to make me smile when I see it.
  • He will randomly come and meet me after swim practice to drive me to my car so I don’t get cold.
  • His idea of a date doesn’t have to involve getting dressed up and going somewhere nice, he’s perfectly happy just staying at his house and watching Fight Club (yes, we have done this.  Yes, it was fun).
  • If there’s somewhere I want to go with him, he’ll try his hardest to be there to do it.
  • Since freshman year, he has been to almost every home meet of mine and some of the more important meets too.
  • No matter what time it is, I can text or call and he’ll be there to listen and help if he can.
  • If he doesn’t know something or if he doesn’t know what to do to help someone, he will go and look it up for them so that they can know and so he can know how to help.
  • While he will go out of his way for me, he won’t drop everything just because I asked him if he wanted to do something. I like how he wants to be there, but he won’t drop everything because it shows that he’s actually human and has other stuff to do.
  • I love the look he gets on his face when he is taking about something he is passionate about.
  • He doesn’t care at all what other people think of him; he’s going to be himself, and if someone doesn’t like it, they can just deal with it.
  • He walks me to class whenever we have classes close to each other.
  • He has introduced me to a lot of what is now some of my favorite music.
  • I can text him something as simple as, “hey, say something to calm me down” and he’ll reply almost immediately asking what’s wrong so he can come up with the right thing to say to help (sometimes it is as simple as “I love you”).
  • He makes an effort to know what’s going on in my family
  • He wants me to meet and hang out with his family and wants to meet and get to know all of my family.
  • If he knows I’m having trouble, he will try to help me out as best he can.
  • He helps me understand some of the stuff he’s interested in; the way he does it makes it so that I become more interested in it too.
  • He is willing to and excited to talk about our future together. Not just yeah we are going to stay together, but what kind of house we will have, what we both want to do for jobs, how many kids we want, how many dogs we want. Everything.
  • He is amazing and I wouldn’t trade him for the world.
  • When my anxiety is acting up, he will do anything in his power to help me.
  • He never fails to make me smile, I can never thank him enough for that.
  • If he feels like something is wrong, he won’t stop bothering me about it until I give up and tell him.  When that happens, he tries to make things better.
  • He makes me feel beautiful even when I’m most definitely not looking my best.
  • He does whatever he can to make me happy. 

If he somehow sees this, thank you for an amazing four years and hopefully for many more. 

