Hey guys, just a slight PSA here. If someone says “look, I just got a reasonable amount of dessert!” You don’t respond with “well, with the amount of physical activity you’re doing right now, I don’t think any amount is reasonable.” 

Yeah… okay. Let’s break that down. First of all, I couldn’t just tell the person who told me that off. It was my dad. Second of all, I get it, you want me to be healthier, you want me to exercise more. You’re going about it wrong

Basically shaming someone about eating some dessert is bullshit. I’d understand if it was my 10th dessert, but it wasn’t. It was my first and only one that I wanted today. I already have some issues with liking myself, to put it bluntly, but this did not help in the slightest. 

I get it, I should exercise more and eat less. Fine. But do you really expect that someone who already doesn’t love themselves all that much is going to take that very well?  Overall, thanks, dad. You made your kid feel bad. I understand that it was probably a joke, but I didn’t find it funny. 

I’m sorry for this rant, but if anyone on here who takes the time to read this thinks that what my dad told me is perfectly fine, then you need to rethink your priorities. I’m not “overweight” by any means. I recently quit swimming competitively. It wasn’t completely because I wanted to. It was from injuries. And don’t tell me that I should have all this time now, because it’s the end of the school year and I’m studying my ass off to try to get good grades. You see, when my attention is brought to my body and what I should and shouldn’t be eating, I get distracted, so while you may have good intentions, save it. Save it for when I’m done with high school. I’ll have more time then, and I’d be perfectly happy to exercise more. But right now, those comments make me feel like shit. So I’d appreciate if they’d stop. 

Even though I know neither of my parents will see this, I just needed to get it out there for other people, not just for other parents. I want this to be out there for everyone. 

Thanks for reading if anyone made it through my rant. 

